1101 Market Street, 11th Floor • Philadelphia, PA 19107

Phone: 215-238-6300 •

May 21, 2004

Women in the Profession Committee Opens Nominations for Sandra Day O'Connor Award

The Women in the Profession Committee is seeking nominations for the 2004 Sandra Day O'Connor Award. Deadline for nominations is Friday, June 25.
 The award is conferred annually on a woman attorney who has demonstrated superior legal talent, achieved significant legal accomplishments and has furthered the advancement of women in both the profession and the community.
The award presentation will be made during the Bar Association's Quarterly Meeting in October.
The committee established the award in 1993 to recognize the important contributions that women attorneys in Philadelphia have made to the legal profession.
That year, U.S. Supreme Court Justice Sandra Day O'Connor presented the first award to U.S. District Court Senior Judge Norma L. Shapiro.
The award has since been presented to the late Juanita Kidd Stout, former justice of the Pennsylvania Supreme Court; Deborah R. Willig, first woman Chancellor of the Philadelphia Bar Association; Marina Angel, of the Temple University Beasley School of Law faculty; Third Circuit Court of Appeals Judge Dolores K. Sloviter (former Chief Judge); U.S. District Court Judge Anita B. Brody; Leslie Anne Miller, first woman president of the Pennsylvania Bar Association; Lila G. Roomberg of Ballard Spahr Andrews & Ingersoll, LLP; the late Judge Judith J. Jamison; Ellen T. Greenlee, chief defender of the Defender Association of Philadelphia; and immediate-past Chancellor Audrey C. Talley.
To download a nomination form, click HERE. For more information about the Sandra Day O'Connor Award, e-mail committee co-chairs Nicole D. Galli at  or Sayde J. Ladov.
# # #