1101 Market Street, 11th Floor • Philadelphia, PA 19107

Phone: 215-238-6300 •

July 23, 2004

Bar Association Opens Nominations for Brennan Award

Chancellor Gabriel L.I. Bevilacqua has announced the opening of nominations for the Association's prestigious Justice William J. Brennan Jr. Distinguished Jurist Award.

The award recognizes a jurist who adheres to the highest ideals of judicial service. Any member of the state or federal bench, whether active or retired, who has made a significant, positive impact on the quality or administration of justice in Philadelphia is eligible for consideration.

Examples of accomplishments worthy of nomination include innovations in court administration, implementation of pioneering case management techniques, assumption of a leadership role in areas affecting the administration of justice, publication of a significant opinion, article, or other scholarly work, or the like.

U.S. Supreme Court Justice William J. Brennan Jr. was the first recipient of the award in 1995. Other recipients of the award, which is now named in honor of Justice Brennan, include the following: President Judge Alex Bonavitacola of the Philadelphia Court of Common Pleas (1996); Judge Phyllis W. Beck of the Pennsylvania Superior Court (1997); Chief Judge Edward R. Becker of the U.S. Court of Appeals for the Third Circuit (1998); Judge Louis C. Bechtle of the U.S. District Court for the Eastern District of Pennsylvania (1999); Chief Judge James T. Giles of the U.S. District Court for the Eastern District of Pennsylvania (2000); Justice Russell M. Nigro of the Pennsylvania Supreme Court (2002); and U.S. District Court Judge Louis H. Pollack (2003). The Brennan Award was not given in 2001.

This year's Brennan Award Committee is chaired by Francis P. Newell.

Nominations for the Justice Brennan Distinguished Jurist Award should be forwarded to Brennan Award, Attn: Genna Viozzi, Philadelphia Bar Association, 1101 Market St., 10th Floor, Philadelphia, PA 19107. All nominations should include the full name, address and telephone number of both the nominee and the person submitting the nomination, a summary of the nominee's accomplishments, and any pertinent supporting material the committee should consider. All nominations must be received no later than 5 p.m. on Tuesday, Aug. 31.

Questions regarding the award should be directed to Genna M. Viozzi at (215)238-6342.

# # #