1101 Market Street, 11th Floor • Philadelphia, PA 19107

Phone: 215-238-6300 •

March 29, 2021

Announcement for 21st Annual Martha Hampton Award

The Workers’ Compensation Section of the Philadelphia Bar Association is presently seeking nominations for the 21st annual Martha Hampton Award. This award was named in honor of an attorney who was committed to the practice of workers’ compensation law.

Each year a committee reviews nominations as to the attorney or judge who best exemplifies Martha’s unique compassion and dedication to her clients, her professionalism, scholarship, and goodwill with her peers. Martha’s interests went beyond the individual case being litigated. She believed in the viability of a workers’ compensation section. She also made it a point to be active in activities that ranged from informative articles in the Legal Intelligencer to testifying before subcommittees in Harrisburg on proposed legislation.

Martha seemed to naturally act as a mentor and educator to many of us. Martha also maintained close friendships. She had the ability to be a strong advocate in the courtroom, and the next moment have coffee with opposing counsel discussing only personal matters, not legal ones. It is this respect for the person/attorney which led to the creation of this award, which continues to grow in its important role of bringing the members of the section together.

It should be noted that all members of the bar and bench who practice workers’ compensation are eligible. This is not an award restricted to claimants’ attorneys. Past winners have included counsel from both sides of the aisle, as well as from the bench.

In addition to the award, a charitable contribution is made each year by Galfand Berger, on behalf of the Section, to Kid’s Chance, an organization that helps youngsters who have lost a parent to a work-related injury to gain a higher level of education.

Your nominations are important. We encourage your participation. Please include your thoughts for making a nomination. The Nomination Committee does not retain a rolling list of past nominees. Only the nominations submitted in 2021 during the nomination period will be considered for this award. Therefore, please re-nominate your proposed candidate if you want the individual to be considered for this award in 2021. Nominations will be accepted until May 21, 2021.

Given the current uncertainty surrounding the COVID-19 Pandemic, the date and location for presentation of the award, will be announced at a later time.

Past recipients are as follows:
Judge Christina Barbieri -- Judge Gerald Klevit -- Stephen Potako -- Jeffrey Gross -- Lenard Cohen -- Maria Terpolilli -- Peter Weber -- Judge Pamela Santoro -- Halmon Banks -- Judge Scott Olin -- William J. McKee -- W. Michael Mulvey -- Marc Jacobs -- Frank Rubinate -- Lisa D. Eldridge -- Jason Krasno -- Niki T. Ingram -- Judge Denise Krass -- Patrice A. “Puddy” Toland -- Judge A. Michael Snyder

All nominations should be e-mailed to Michael McGurrin at or mailed to him at Galfand Berger, LLP, 1835 Market Street, 27th floor, Philadelphia, PA 19103.

# # #