1101 Market Street, 11th Floor • Philadelphia, PA 19107

Phone: 215-238-6300 •

December 21, 2020

Philadelphia Bar Association Sections Honor 2020 Award Winners

The sections recognized members and community leaders for their contributions to the legal profession and the administration of justice

The Philadelphia Bar Association is recognizing outstanding members of our community throughout the month of December with 2020 Section awards. Below is a full list of recipients, including the Section giving the award and a description of the award criteria:

Criminal Justice Section

  • Thurgood Marshall Award (recognizes a member or nonmember for long-time service to the legal profession that exemplifies Justice Thurgood Marshall’s career): Thomas J. Innes III, 2020 Section Co-Chair, Defender Association of Philadelphia
  • Henry Czajkowski Award (recognizes a non-lawyer who has made outstanding contributions to the administration of justice): Roseanne Unger, director of criminal administration, Philadelphia Municipal Court

Family Law Section

  • Herbert R. Weiman, Sr. & Jr. Award: Molly Callahan, Esq., legal center director, Women Against Abuse Legal Center

Public Interest Section

  • Bending the Arc Award (recognizes a legal services advocate or public defender or a public interest lawyer working with a nonprofit that serves a charitable or public interest purpose): Jennifer R. Clarke, Esq., executive director, The Public Interest Law Center
  • Hon. Louis H. Pollak Award (given annually to a Judge who embodies Judge Pollak’s commitment to public service): Judge Kenneth J. Powell, Jr., Philadelphia Court of Common Pleas, and Judge Karen Y. Simmons, Philadelphia Municipal Court

Real Property Section

  • Harris Ominsky Award (presented to a pre-eminent real estate attorney who practices, or has practiced, law in Philadelphia): Eileen B. Quigley, Esq., senior attorney, Ballard Spahr LLP
  • Good Deed Award (recognizes individuals or groups that provide exemplary service to the community): Rebuilding Together Philadelphia, which revitalizes communities by transforming vulnerable houses into safe, healthy and energy-efficient homes

State Civil Litigation Section

  • Hon. Alex Bonavitacola Award (recognizes an individual or group for lasting contributions and dedication to the Philadelphia Court system): Judge Arnold New, Philadelphia Court of Common Pleas

Young Lawyers Division

  • Craig M. Perry Service Award (recognizes a young lawyer for their exceptional pro bono and community service efforts): Krystal Kane, pro bono attorney, Blank Rome LLP
  • F. Sean Peretta Service Award (recognizes a community member who exhibits exceptional community service): Geneva Campbell Brown, associate senior counsel, corporate transactions, Cigna, and volunteer attorney and pro bono practice group coordinator, Philadelphia VIP
  • Vision Award (recognizes individuals or groups who support the Young Lawyers Division in its philanthropic mission and public service works): Staff of the Philadelphia Bar Association

In addition, earlier this year the Workers’ Compensation Section honored Judge A. Michael Snyder (ret.), Chancellor, with the Martha Hampton Award, which commemorates the service, dignity, professionalism and dedication exemplified by Hampton during her years of practice.

# # #