1101 Market Street, 11th Floor • Philadelphia, PA 19107

Phone: 215-238-6300 •

July 12, 2020

Reggie Shuford to Receive Diversity Award at Summer Quarterly Virtual Meeting

The Association will proudly present the Justice Sonia Sotomayor Diversity Award to Reggie Shuford, Esq., Executive Director of the ACLU of Pennsylvania at its virtual Summer Quarterly Meeting on Friday, August 7 at 12:00 p.m. This award is presented annually to recognize an individual attorney, jurist, law firm, corporate legal department, or other organization that has made substantial and lasting contributions to the Association’s goal of promoting full and equal participation and inclusion by all attorneys in Philadelphia’s legal community.

Reggie Shuford has been the executive director of the ACLU-PA since 2011. In the past decade, he has doubled the organization into a staff of almost 40 and expanded its public profile, fundraising, and impact. His commitment to diversity is evident in hiring, retention, and promoting practices, as well as in the accomplishments of the organization, serving as its chief litigator in challenges to racial profiling. He is also a leader in Pennsylvania’s efforts to prohibit discrimination based on sexual orientation and gender identity and works tirelessly to protect the voting rights of the state’s most vulnerable citizens.

Reggie has been a leader within the Bar Association, serving on the Public Interest Section Executive Committee from 2012–2016 and as Diversity Chair of the Philadelphia Bar Association since 2019.

Dr. Evelyn Brooks Higginbotham, Professor of Afro-American Studies, African American Religion and the Victor S. Thomas Professor of History and of African and African American Studies at Harvard University and wife of the late Judge A. Leon Higginbotham Jr, will also deliver the Judge A. Leon Higginbotham Jr. Memorial Public Interest Lecture.

In addition, we will commemorate the 100th anniversary of the passage of the 19th Amendment to the Constitution, which gave women the right to vote, honor members who have been a Philadelphia Lawyer for 50 and 60 years, and recognize the 2020 recipients of the Eve Biskind Klothen Law Student Pro Bono Distinction Award.

Register Here

# # #